You’re Too Old to Rock, No More Rocking for You

Image

Last night, Science Club held it’s first practice of the New Year and the first practice where I tried to use earplugs.

There’s a test you can take online. You plug in your headphones and listen to a series of tones. As each tone plays, the screen will list the age at which people can usually hear these tones. In essence, this test tells you how old your ears are.

I took this test. My ears are in their 50s. Not great, since I’m not even 30 yet.

Going deaf has never been a concern of mine. I’ve played in loud bands since I was a teenager, and I’ve been using headphones to listen to loud music since before the bands. I always assumed that I’d lose my hearing somewhere down the road and, when that happened, I’d just get a hearing aid and move on with my life.

That plan, for any number of reasons, seems much less feasible now than it did when I was 12 and my Grandmother was worried about getting me a diskman for my birthday.

So I tired to use earplugs at practice and it wasn’t great. There’s something missing when you play with plugs, a disconnect that I can’t really explain but would make sense if you played music. I took ‘em out about 2/3 of the way through practice. Looks like hearing aids for me.

I will say that they helped me hear myself sing, and, just as we all suspected, I’m a golden-throated angel.

The first hour of practice was a bit of a slog. The second hour went better. We’re ready for our shows.

OH YEAH, WE’VE GOT TWO SHOWS THIS WEEK. 

Come and get it. We’ll play a song for you.

Leave a Reply

