Who Pays for Their Fucking Bullshit? We Do.

Science Club is playing The Trocadero on March 1.

I know, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to me, either.

photo (6)

The story of how this show came to be is a boring one, full of all the mundane details one would expect if they ever tried to book their band someplace. An opening was presented. We sent an email. The email was responded to. Here we are now.

What matters, I guess, is what this means for Science Club and what this means for you.

WHAT THIS MEANS FOR SCIENCE CLUB is that we get to knock something off our list. I never in a million years thought this band would last as long as it has, let alone did I think we’d ever play a show outside of the dingy, small Philly bars I know. I certainly didn’t think we’d get a chance to play (what is, in my opinion) one of the top 5 best venues in the city.

I wrote the other day that the Lit Lounge has history. The Troc has twice that history. I’ve seen dozens of my favorite bands play here (Face to Face, Hot Water Music, The Lawrence Arms, Ted Leo, The Hold Steady, dozens more), and now we get to sweat all over it and try to bum everyone out.

Us. The same band that wrote a song about Star Trek.

If bands can have bucket lists, this is getting crossed off ours.

WHAT THIS MEANS FOR YOU is that we are going to test all the friendships we’ve ever had.

We are going to sell tickets for this show. Odds are, if you are reading this, we’re going to ask you to buy a ticket.

Now, look. I get it, I really do. I’ve had friends in bands all the way back to grade school and, while I’ve loved all my friends, I haven’t loved all their bands. I’ve been asked to buy tickets to some truly horrible shows before, and it’s a pain in the ass. No one knows that more than I do.

The only way this is different is that now I’m the one asking, not the one trying to change the subject or politely declining.

So, if you know us, we’re gonna try and pitch you. Of course, if you’d just like to up and buy one, do it from us by clicking this link here and we’ll make it happen.

So, yeah. Science Club. The Trocadero. Saturday, March 1.

This is so stupid. This is so exciting.

Science Club forever.

Leave a Reply

